Book Review: The Strange Library


The Strange Library – Haruki Murakami
Rating: *** from *****

I am a “non-consistent-bookworm”, if bookworm could be somehow categorized. I always have this interest on books since I was younger, particularly in fictions. I always believe books will open your horizon even broader, and in a way I have actually proven that statement by becoming my current self.
It is just unfortunate that I read less and less, all because my bad time management (I can easily blame my work but it will be a lame excuse as you will suggest). Hence I challenged myself to read 20 books this year, whatever genre it is. Guess what? I have just read two books until yesterday, and Haruki Murakami’s book of The Strange Library was my third. Surely enough, I have homeworks to be done before end of the year! 🙂

I have never read Haruki Murakami’s work before, though I often saw good reviews about his pieces here and there around internet. Shame on me? I guess so. But sometimes you just pick and choose book that you want to read depending on your thoughts. For me, it was only when I saw this particular title I decided to read his work. I admit it reminded me to Jostein Gaardner’s “Bibbi Bokken’s Magic Library”. It was one special book that reminded me on my affection toward books and somehow triggered my interest on library.

The Strange Library, as I expected, gave different vibe. In fact, it did not at all explore any feeling on books and library. It was funnily aligned with its title itself: story about a strange, scary and nightmarish library. I do not think I want to go to that kind of library ever, especially with a librarian who wanted to do something bad to you.

Though it was telling dark story, this book successfully made me stayed in my seat until the very last page. I could not stop wondering what would happen next, and if the protagonist would make it until the end. Unfortunately, the ending was pretty unclear for me. I could not sense any particular impact of incident happened in the library in the protagonist’s life. It might depend on one’s interpretation, but I believed that Murakami can add something which will give even better reference for readers to imagine different potential directions.

In the end, I think this book is a pretty good introduction to Haruki Murakami’s work. I might try to explore more in the near future to gain different perspective on his works 🙂

Leave a Reply

