A short visit to beautiful Morocco

If I look back to the way I used to be, or to be precise, the way I used to think, I would never thought I would dare to go traveling to another country by myself or even with some friends. I really think I have come quite a way (I would not say “long” as I believe I will still be evolving) from my old self. Not too bad, I must say, though I know I could still do and become better moving forward 🙂

With above short self-reflection *cough*, I just want to share my last trip which took place a week ago. Outside of my friends expectations, I went to Morocco, Africa 🙂 In the beginning it was purely a vague plan discussed with a friend of mine as we both were interested in visiting Marrakech but not sure when and how. It was kind of fortune that we managed to do it as I was not sure I would get my leaves approved by my new boss (but eventually I got it, of course). With short period of time to prepare the plan and book necessary accommodation, my friend and I finally hopped into the flight to the continent next to Europe 🙂

Our trip was pretty tight in schedule, mainly driven by my time limitation. I could not take more personal leaves as we have just been starting our new year and I have tons of work to do in the office. So Fafa and Majlo, my younger “sister and brother” tried their best to make sure I would still get the main attractions without harming my time. I owed them a lot for this trip 🙂

We managed to visit Marrakech, Ouarzazate and Zagora. Out of those three place, I must say the place I enjoyed least was Marrakech. It might be driven mainly by the fact that Majlo was got robbed there and no one did care about it, but another factor which was also significant was the way people there kept approaching you to offer everything: food, hostel, attraction, etc. Though I knew they were merely doing their “job”, still I wish they would have let me alone so I could have enjoyed the city even more. Picture of Marrakech which I had on mind before completely wasted after I experienced the city by myself.

Luckily, after we arrived in the next destinations (Ouarzazate and Zagora), we had good time and we enjoyed a lot both cities, not only the view, but also the people there. They were least demanding than people in Marrakech, and also more polite in a way. We even met a very nice guy who became our host and provided us free stay at his hostel (even though in other hand we had to cancel our reservation in another hostel because of that).

The most memorable time I had in Morocco was when we visited the desert and watching the beautiful clear sky with million of stars above our head. It was just beautiful and magical. I felt very small being there, in the middle of nowhere, and realized how lucky I am to be alive and live in this huge, magnificent world. It was the time when I remembered why people often said that life is short, and you just have to enjoy it and make the most of it before it finished. I think they are absolutely right.

With that conclusion ended up my trip, I went back with new spirit to Lausanne, and ready to make the most of my remaining assignment time (which will be the next five months). I will see what will happen next, but I know now I will not hesitate to do what I think the best for me though it might not be ideal. Wish me luck 🙂

IMG_9509

Morocco5

Morocco9

Morocco16

Morocco28

Morocco25

One thought on “A short visit to beautiful Morocco

Leave a Reply

