So I think it’s almost time to say goodbye to 2013? (Part 1)

I decided to split this post into several parts as I was thinking the result might be longer than I expected in the beginning (though it is also possible it will be much shorter than I thought). However, considering that I have not written any post for the last two months, and the hungry feeling inside to throw out words, I think it would be safe to assume that this is going to be a quite long post (or at least, long from my perspective, as some people could write thousand words and still think it’s not long enough).

So, as cliché as it sounds, again I must admit that time went so fast, maybe a bit too fast for me especially for the last six months. If you remember some posts I put in the beginning of this year, the first quarter of 2013 was not a very good time for me, mostly because of the situation at my workplace. The only thing that made me hopeful was the assignment that I would take in the second quarter of 2013. It was not a too-long-waiting in actual, but somehow it felt like forever at some point, which also made me wondering if I made a right decision to wait.

And I did make a right decision. Alhamdulillah.

It is kind of funny that now, in the end of the year, what I could remember clearly is only the last six months I had in Lausanne, Switzerland, and moments with my family and friends in Indonesia. It feels like some memories have been hidden somewhere inside my brain; memories that might be bitter, but also sweet in the same time. I am not sure if I chose to do that, or only due to the fact that I have been overwhelmed even since the first time I arrived here.

This great opportunity to be outside of my country, working and experiencing something new made me feeling grateful, almost every single day. It always felt good to remind myself (e.g. when I started to feel uneasy noticing some people could go around the world easily): “Well, actually, not all people could get that opportunity. You’re here now, with good job, good income, and still manage to go to other countries easily. You should be always grateful for that, young girl!”

That is enough to make me getting rid of my jealousy, and thanking God again and again for this wonderful opportunity. I am so lucky.

Leave a Reply

