About Iftar last week

I think I was lucky enough to have iftar several times with my friends this year. Maybe the participants were not as many as I expected, but the gathering itself what matters and that’s good enough for me ๐Ÿ™‚

Following previous iftar with my senior high school friends and college friends, last week I had iftar with my juniors from the same laboratory in college, and with friends from my previous company. Both are fun and interesting with different reason. For example, iftar with my juniors in Friday night. We made an appointment to meet at Pacific Place and I was assigned to book the place since my workplace is the nearest ๐Ÿ˜› I then found out that during Ramadhan, almost all restaurants were full, especially those with reasonable food price (e.g. Tawan, Kafe Betawi). I finally ended in “ah Tuan Eeh”, a Malaysian restaurant (not sure if I spell the name right) just minutes before it’s full. Lesson to take: make sure you book your place earlier if you want to have iftar with your friends during Ramadhan.

But the interesting part was not only about the place. When finally my juniors came one by one, I was quite pleased hearing they say that I wasย “look different!” or “really slim!”. The oddness happened when the last participant, Sandi, finally came. Somehow he looked really confused when I said “hi” to him, and did not really give me the usual response as I used to remember. After he sat down and had several minutes chit chat, suddenly he asked, “Where’s Mba Niken anyway?” Three of us were in a silent for a sec, and then exploded in laugh. I was sitting in front of him and he didn’t recognize me at all! That’s quite hilarious, I must say ๐Ÿ˜›

In other side,ย the iftar with my friends from previous company was located at HardRock cafe in EX plaza. It was quite different iftar with what I used to have, because there was this live music, and most of the time we were paying attention more to the music rather than having a conversation. It was quite nice though to meet each other and catch up what they are up to. I wish for next Ramadhan (hopefully we can still get the privilege of it, Amin….) we can have more “conventional” place to meet so we can talk and share our stories closely than before.

Overall, I had good iftar last week and I was really grateful about it. Hopefully we can have even better and meaningful iftar in next Ramadhan, hopefully we will get the opportunity next year to have it all over again.. Amin ya rabbal alamin… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

